From BitWise DocuWiki
Macros can save you time and effort by reducing the typing required for common phrases.
|Table of contents|
Adding a macro
First, open the preferences. The preferences are accessible under the File menu of the contact list, and from a few other places as well. In the list of preferences on the left, click on Macros. Then, to add a macro, click Add towards the bottom of the screen. As you can see here, we are adding a macro that we can use when we are ready to end a conversation.
Because macros are automatically expanded when you type them (in most circumstances), you should name your macros such that you will not type one during normal conversation. We recommend using a % at the beginning of each macro, although other symbols such as ^ or $ could work just as well.
Editing an existing macro
You can change any macro by clicking on it in the list of macros. In this screenshot, we have also added a second macro called %newhi, and we are editing it. You do not need to "Save" when you are finished, any changes will be automatically saved.
Make note of the system macros listed on the Macros preferences. These macros are always available and can be used in any of your macros. We are using two of them in the macro being edited here, and later we will see them "in action."
Using a macro in a conversation
To use a macro, simply type the macro name. When you type the name of the macro, it will be automatically unless you are using it in an away message, in which case it will be expanded when you actually use that message. This allows you to have system macros such as time give the actual time that you went away, rather than the time that you typed the away message (which is useless).
How the macro is shown
Here is the message shown in its full form. See how the name (Kevin) and the time was automatically filled in? No matter who you are sending to and what time it is, those values will always be correct.
You can temporarily suspend macro processing in a conversation or conference by checking Disable Macros on the Conversation menu. No macros, not even system macros, will be processed when Disable Macros is enabled. This setting is cleared when you close the window.